Codeless Integration in Dynamics CRM Using Microsoft Flow

Integration has been one of the strong cards of Dynamics CRM. It’s easier than ever to have it talk to other systems with the addition of the new WEB API and an increasing number of tools for integration.

Now, Microsoft is making things even much more easier and accessible for developers and non-developers alike with the introduction of Microsoft Flow.

Microsoft Flow

Microsoft Flow is a service that lets you automate your integration for various applications through workflows. It’s seamless and requires virtually no coding.

Let’s take a look at it.

Go to Microsoft Flow home page.

microsoft flow page

As you can see, it is still in preview so I would not recommend this to your projects. But if you are doing some proof-of-concept or just experimenting around, you have to give it a try.

You only need an Office 365 account to sign in.

microsoft flow sign in

 

To start integrating, just go to My Flows.

microsoft flow my flows

 

In the My Flows page, you can see a vast array of integration templates. From there, you can search templates that best suit your needs across different services and platforms like SharePoint, Dynamics CRM, Salesforce, Twilio, and even social networking services like Twitter and Facebook.

For this example, I am going to search for templates focused on Dynamics CRM.

As you can see. there are already pre-made integration workflow templates for us.

microsoft flow workflow templates

 

For now, since I already spun up an instance of Dynamics CRM and SharePoint Online, let’s choose Create a new record in Dynamics CRM when a new list item is added.

Now you will be asked to enter your credentials for both SharePoint and Dynamics CRM.

microsoft flow sharepoint

 

If you click Continue, you will see a very intuitive interface. It depicts a flowchart, and from here you can choose what your workflow will do.

In my SharePoint Site, I already made a custom List called Lead List (pardon the name). From this list, I want the items I create to be also created in Dynamics CRM as a Lead.

So back in Microsoft Flow, I entered by Site URL and the List I wish to use.

microsoft flow lead list

 

What I wanted to do is to be able to create a Lead in Dynamics CRM for every Lead List entry. With that, I also entered the details in the Dynamics CRM panel: the Organization and the Entity Name. Now as you can see, upon entering the Organization and Entity Name, the required fields for the Lead are shown.

It’s actually very intuitive that they immediately showed the user the required fields.

microsoft flow required fields

 

When you put focus on a field, say the Topic, Microsoft Flow gives you options on what you want to insert there. As you can see in the image below, the different attributes of a SharePoint List item are shown below the Dynamics CRM Topic Textarea.

microsoft flow textarea

 

You can do both dynamic mapping and static mapping. For the Lead Topic, I chose the SharePoint List Item Title, and for the Lead LastName, I chose my last name, Galvez.

If you click the ellipsis, the other fields for Lead are shown.

microsoft flow leads other fields

 

When you click the little + button at the end of the flow, you can opt to add another action or add another condition to branch your flow.

For the time being, I’m not going to do that.

microsoft flow add another action

 

Once you are done with your flow, just click Create Flow and it will be saved and become ready for use.

microsoft flow create flow

 

Your flow is now available in the My Flows page so you can manage your workflows.

new flow

 

Let’s test it!

I created a list item in my SharePoint instance.

microsoft flow sharepoint instance

 

Now, that created list item is now in Dynamics CRM as a Lead.

microsoft flow my open leads

 

There you have it!

We have created a nice workflow between SharePoint and Dynamics CRM without any coding.

I can see this service booming as a community of developers creating various templates for a wide array of functionalities.

If you find this post helpful, please share it or comment.

Leave a Reply

